President Trump’s Executive Order

Section 3 of the President Trump’s Executive Order, signed on January 27, 2017, suspends the immigrant and non-immigrant entry of nationals from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen for 90 days.

Since the order itself does not define what is meant by “from one of the designated countries,” it would be prudent for those who hold passports from those countries, are citizens, nationals, dual nationals or those born in one of the listed countries to not plan any travel outside the United States for the foreseeable future.

Our caution about oversees travel would also to apply to “green card” holders (lawful permanent residents) from these countries, although it appears from the most recent government updates that “green card holders” from these countries will be eligible for admission into the United States on a case by case basis subject to extensive questioning at the time of their attempted entry into the United States.

We should emphasize here that this executive order should not affect entries into the United States by foreign nationals not from these designated countries.

However, we would also recommend caution regarding international travel for any foreign nationals from non-designated countries who traveled, especially recently, to one of the seven designated countries listed in the President’s Executive Order.

Contributed by Charles M. Goldsmith

| Immigrant, Nonimmigrant